South Australians Recognised For NAIDOC

The NAIDOC SA awards were announced at the beginning of NAIDOC week at the Adelaide Town Hall and were presented by the Lord Mayor of Adelaide, Sandy Verschoor.

The NAIDOC SA committee congratulated all the winners of the awards for their significant achievements and valued contribution to the South Australian community.

Charlotte Dare was the recipient of the inaugural LGBTIQ Person of the Year award.

Kaurna Elder Lynette Crocker was recognised for her work in reconciliation, native title and government by receiving the inaugural Lord Mayor’s NAIDOC award.

The award winners for 2019 are:

Caring for Country: Merle Simpson

Business of the Year: Yellaka

Male Sportsperson of the Year: Robbie Young

Female Sportsperson of the Year: Rikki Milera-Wilson

Apprentice/Trainee of the Year: Chaelyn Sumner

Artist of the Year: Taree Sansbury

Male Elder of the Year: Uncle Roy Coulthard

Female Elder of the Year: Aunty Yvonne Agius

Scholar of the Year: Sharon Sutton

Inaugural LGBTIQ Person of the Year: Charlotte Dare

Young Person of the Year: Courtney Hammond

Lifetime Achievement: Aunty Raylene Campion

Person of the Year: Sarah Betts

SANTS acknowledges that the land on which our office is based is the traditional lands for the Kaurna people and we respect their spiritual and cultural relationship with their country.