NAIDOC SA Award Recipients 2020

Always Was, Always Will Be

The 13 recipients of the 2020 NAIDOC SA Awards were announced in a ceremony on Monday, 9 November at the Adelaide Town Hall to celebrate NAIDOC Week 2020.

This year’s NAIDOC Awards were presented by NAIDOC SA Chairperson, Joyleen Thomas. The recipients are:

  • Lifetime Achievement – Professor Peter Buckskin
  • Person of the Year – Eddie Peters
  • Female Elder of the Year – Martha Watts
  • Male Elder of the Year – Eddie Newchurch
  • Artist of the Year – Alan Sumner
  • Young Person of the Year – Samara Fernandez-Brown
  • LGBTIQ – Zaachariah Fielding
  • Sportswoman of the Year – Helena Norton
  • Sportsman of the Year – Frank Szekely
  • Apprentice/Trainee – Anthony St Clair
  • Businessperson of the Year – Anthony Wilson – Nood Australia
  • Caring for Country – Arabana Ranges via Arabana Aboriginal Corporation
  • Scholar of the Year – Gail Brennan

Lord Mayor of Adelaide Sandy Verschoor said that NAIDOC awards are an important way of honouring the significant contributions made by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

“We warmly congratulate all award recipients on their achievements and for inspiring others within the community through their actions,” said the Lord Mayor.

“The resilience and richness of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures are of great importance to Aboriginal and non- Aboriginal people alike. It is important that Lore, knowledge and stories continue to be told.”

Award recipients said it was an honour to have their achievements recognised.

Guests shared morning tea with the Lord Mayor and observed the official raising of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags ceremony from the balcony of the Town Hall.

Also presented for the second year was the Lord Mayor’s NAIDOC award, which acknowledges an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander community member for their outstanding achievement, service and contribution to reconciliation in Adelaide. This year’s recipient was Kaurna leader Jack Bucksin, who was awarded a traditional woodcarving created by Patrick Ikaringanyi Ferguson.

Leave a Reply